Thursday, December 27, 2012

The Muse in the Fog Book Review: International Giveaway! Mid-Winters Eve Blog Hop

The Muse in the Fog Book Review: International Giveaway! Mid-Winters Eve Blog Hop: It's almost Christmas, so what a better time than now to have another giveaway! This giveaway will be apart of the Midwinter's Eve Blog Hop ... Giveaway Ends Tonight!!!

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

A Christmas Present From Michelle Madow


This Christmas, Michelle Madow has a present for YOU! She put together a "Transcend Time Bonus Packet," complete with a sneak peak of the first five chapters of Remembrance, a bonus scene for Remembrance, a deleted scene from Timeless, character interviews, and essays she's written about the series. This Bonus Packet is called Transcendence, and she is giving it away for FREE on Smashwords.

The Transcend Time Saga is about a high school student named Lizzie who has been reincarnated from Regency Era, England, but doesn’t realize it until she meets her soul mate from the past and he triggers her memories to gradually return. The series began with Remembrance (published July 25, 2011), was followed by the short story Vengeance (published December 8, 2011), and concluded with Timeless (published November 20, 2012). The series has sold a significant number of copies, and has received much praise from reviewers.


Click here to download your free copy of Transcendence!--
>https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/266571 

Waiting On Wednesday: Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Title: Sweet Peril
Author: Wendy Higgins
Release Date: April 30, 2013
Synopsis: Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things. 

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?

What are you waiting on?

Eternal Hope Trailer Reveal

Eternal Hope  by Frankie Rose (YA Paranormal)
Series: The Hope Series #2
Publication date: October, 2012


He loves me, he loves me not, he loves me

When your friends go missing and you don’t know if they’re dead or alive; when you tie your soul to the one you love; when you kill to protect and your family suffers, there’s only one thing you can do:

Move to Montana.

Farley Hope is special. She was prophesied to kill the forebears of her bloodline- a race of cold-blooded Reavers, men who steal the souls of the living to gain power. The Quorum had counted on Farley ending her own life in the process, but when Kayden came to her aid and helped save both her and Daniel, he undid their plans. Now the Quorum are displeased, not only with Kayden, but with Farley and Daniel too. Though her father is now dead, Farley’s troubles with the Reavers are far from over. An ancient Immortal, trapped for a thousand years, wants Farley for himself, and he will stop at nothing to claim her.

With secrets that lead to anger and pain, that turn friendship to dust, the group must overcome the problems within their own circle before they have a hope of fighting off the powers that threaten their lives.




Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday: The Goddess Inheritance by Aimee Carter


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Title: The Goddess Inheritance
Author: Aimee Carter
Release Date: Feb. 26 2013
Synopsis: Love or life.
Henry or their child.
The end of her family or the end of the world.
Kate must choose.


During nine months of captivity, Kate Winters has survived a jealous goddess, a vengeful Titan and a pregnancy she never asked for. Now the Queen of the Gods wants her unborn child, and Kate can't stop her--until Cronus offers a deal.

In exchange for her loyalty and devotion, the King of the Titans will spare humanity and let Kate keep her child. Yet even if Kate agrees, he'll destroy Henry, her mother and the rest of the council. And if she refuses, Cronus will tear the world apart until every last god and mortal is dead.

With the fate of everyone she loves resting on her shoulders, Kate must do the impossible: find a way to defeat the most powerful being in existence, even if it costs her everything.

Even if it costs her eternity.

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday: Boundless by Cynthia Hand

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Title: Boundless
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date: January 22nd 2013
Synopsis: The past few years have held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner could ever have anticipated. Yet from the dizzying highs of first love, to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she can no longer deny is that she was never meant to live a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seems like the best option, so she’s headed back to California - and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must decide her fate once and for all.


Why: I cannot wait for this book. I love this series! :) I can't wait to see how this series ends... I don't want it to end haha It's coming out soon!!!!...Well in ,like, a month lol

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Giveaway Alert: Gift Card Giveaway Hop at Cuzinlogic

Cuzinlogic is giving away a $10 Itunes gift card and a $10 Amazon gift card. Giveaway ends 11:59pm on December 17 2012. All times are Eastern Standard. Enter here now! You can jump from all the blogs on the hop to win more gift cards also!

Monday, December 10, 2012

Book Review: The Goddess Legacy by Aimee Carter

Title: The Goddess Legacy
Author: Aimée Carter
Publisher: HarlequinTEEN
Publication Date: July 31st 2012
Edition: Ebook
Source: Netgalley

Synopsis: For millennia we've caught only glimpses of the lives and loves of the gods and goddesses on Olympus. Now Aimée Carter pulls back the curtain on how they became the powerful, petty, loving and dangerous immortals that Kate Winters knows. 

Calliope/Hera represented constancy and yet had a husband who never matched her faithfulness...

Ava/Aphrodite was the goddess of love and yet commitment was a totally different deal...

Persephone was urged to marry one man, yet longed for another...

James/Hermes loved to make trouble for others-but never knew true loss before...

Henry/Hades's solitary existence had grown too wearisome to continue. But meeting Kate Winters gave him a new hope...

Five original novellas of love, loss and longing and the will to survive throughout the ages.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5


Review: I'm going to keep this review short and sweet because that is what these stories were. I loved them and Aimée Carter is one of my favorite authors. This was the perfect book to tide me over until The Goddess Inheritance comes out.My favorites had to be Henry/Hades's story and James/Hermes's story. I mean come on, who doesn't enjoy reading about an adorably troublemaker and a quiet, dark hero? 


The only downside that I had with these stories was that Ava/Aphrodite, Calliope/Hera and Persephone seemed really whiny to me. I get that Ava and Persephone going to sound a little bit like that, but I didn't expect that from Calliope. I couldn't feel any sympathy for Calliope, because it seems like everything bad that has happened to her was kind of her fault. Ava's lack of commitment kind of got to me, but I understand the whole Goddess of Love Can't Commit thing. Persephone...she just annoyed me. She was just...ugh... and her relationship with Adonis didn't seem all that healthy or good for anyone. 


Okay back to the good. The best thing about this book had to be the last part with Henry/Hades seeing Kate. I thought that it was so cute and I really enjoyed that part. I am also very, very sad that Tuck didn't make it. I think James/Hermes needed her and It was amazing what Henry/Hades did for him in the end. Tuck was my favorite of the new characters.


I recommend this SERIES to everyone that I know. I have loved Aimée Carter's series since the first one came out and I cannot wait until the next one comes out.

Saturday, November 24, 2012

Want to Read Opal?!?!?

I do!


The author, Jennifer L. Armentrout, is hosting a giveaway of her numerous author's copies. You have three chances to win! :)

Go enter now! Click here!



Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Up in the Bibliosphere: YA Mythology Giveaway Hop!

Up in the Bibliosphere: YA Mythology Giveaway Hop!: Time for another giveaway hop! This one is hosted by For Those About to Read & I Am a Reader, Not a Writer. One lucky winner gets their...

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Bookworm Mia: Happily Ever After Giveaway!

Bookworm Mia: Happily Ever After Giveaway!: Hello everyone! This is my first giveaway hop! I am so excited! And for the theme Happily ever after, I have chosen Alice in Zombieland...

Friday, October 12, 2012

Sarah's YA Blog: Happily Ever After Giveaway Hop: Win "Entwined" by...

Sarah's YA Blog: Happily Ever After Giveaway Hop: Win "Entwined" by...: I am so excited to be participating in my first ever Blog Hop!! I'm giving away a paperback copy of "Enshadowed" by Heather Dixon. I lis...

Monique Morgan: Happily Ever After Giveaway Hop

Monique Morgan: Happily Ever After Giveaway Hop: Welcome to my stop on the Happily Ever After Giveaway Hop hosted by I am a Reader Not a Writer & Murphy's Library Up for grabs: Five...

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Bookish: Bookshelf Cleaning EPIC giveaway (4 boxes of books...

Bookish: Bookshelf Cleaning EPIC giveaway (4 boxes of books...: That's right! It's time for Bookshelf Cleaning giveaway! As I was cleaning and re-arranging my bookshelves today, I realized that I have...

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Going On A Break

See note at the top of the website.

I have way to much going on right now.

See Picture -->


Monday, June 18, 2012

Beauty and Books: Box of Books Summer Giveaway!

Beauty and Books: Box of Books Summer Giveaway!: Hey book lovers, summer is now upon us. What better time to get some new books on those polished shelves?  Rainy Day Ramblings and Book...

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Facebook Page

As of now my new Facebook page is live! I'm so excited, I've been meaning to create it for a long time.

You can visit and like (If you want to): Here

Hope you enjoy it! :)

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Giveaway Alert: Unearthly Reviews.: 100 Follower Giveaway!

Unearthly Reviews.: 100 Follower Giveaway!: That's right guys, I've finally reached 100 followers! I'm so happy! I've decided to hold a giveaway. One winner will get to choose a boo...

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Book Review: A Midsummer's Nightmare by Kody Keplinger


Title: A Midsummer's Nightmare
Author: Kody Keplinger
Publisher: Poppy
Publication Date: June 5, 2012
Edition: Kindle
Source: Bought
Synopsis: Whitley Johnson's dream summer with her divorce dad has turned into a nightmare. She's just met his new fiancee and her kids. The fiancee's son? Whitley's one-night stand from graduation night. Just freakin' great.

Worse, she totally doesn't fit in with her dad's perfect new country-club family. So Whitley acts out. She parties. Hard. So hard she doesn't even notice the good things right under her nose: a sweet little future stepsister who is just about the only person she's ever liked, a best friend (even though Whitley swears she doesn't "do" friends), and a smoking-hot guy who isn't her stepbrother...at least, not yet. It will take all three of them to help Whitley get through her anger and begin to put the pieces of her family together.
Filled with authenticity and raw emotion, Whitley is Kody Keplinger's most compelling character to date: a cynical Holden Caulfield-esque girl you will wholly care about.


Rating: 5/5

Review: I absolutely loved this book. It was probably one of the best contemporary book that I've read this year. I loved the concept of them being step siblings, I've never read another book that had that in it.

The romance between Whitley and Nathan was amazing. They balanced each other out, it seemed. Okay let's get down to business, they're relationship was hot. Nuff said. They're scenes were amazing.

One character that stood out to me other than the main characters was Nathan's little sister, Bailey. She helped the story along. For one, she made Whitley into a better person, and for two, she kind of pushed Nathan and Whitley together. She was just sweet and innocent and she was like the total opposite of Whitley.

The daddy issue parts I teared up. I swear those were the saddest parts in this whole book. Her dad was kind of a big *Bleep*.

In the end, this is a great book and I will recommend this book to everyone that I know. I loved it.

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Book Review: The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines


Title: The Vincent Brothers
Author: Abbi Glines
Publisher: N/A
Publication Date: June 5, 2012
Edition: Kindle
Source: Bought
Synopsis: He may have given her up without a fight, but Sawyer Vincent is far from over losing the girl he’s loved all of his life. Instead of giving up his best friend and the girl he thought he’d spend forever with, he gave Ashton and his brother Beau his blessing. However, adjusting to seeing Ashton wrapped up in Beau’s arms isn't easy. Complicating everything even more, Ashton’s cousin Lana is in town for the summer. Sweet, kind, soft-spoken Lana, who gets under his skin. Just being near her makes him forget all about Ashton and his broken heart. Lana is everything he wanted Ashton to be except she isn't Ashton. She lacks the backbone to stand up for herself and confidence that Ashton wears like a crown. 

Lana McDaniel has lived her life in her cousin's shadow. While Lana struggled with her grades no matter how hard she tried, her mother praised Ashton's intelligence. She hadn’t been blessed with Ashton’s blond hair and flawless skin, but that didn't keep her mother from lamenting her naturally red hair and freckles. But none of that would have mattered if Ashton hadn’t always had Sawyer Vincent wrapped around her finger -- the only boy Lana wanted. Once Ashton let Sawyer go, Lana had been so sure that he’d move on. Determined to make Sawyer finally see her, she'd talked her mother into letting her spend the summer with Ashton. But Sawyer is still in love with Ashton, and Lana isn’t going to be anyone's rebound girl. No matter how yummy Sawyer Vincent’s kisses taste.


Rating: 4/5

Review: I just finished this book this morning and I must say that Abbi Glines has yet to disappoint me with her books. I haven't read a book of hers that I that I haven't liked. I think this was a perfect sequel for The Vincent Boys.

Sawyer and Lana's relationship was so much different than Beau and Ashton's, I think it surprised me a little bit. It was so innocent and just all out sweet. Sometimes in this book, though, Sawyer annoyed me. He was so "Ashton, Ashton, Ashton" in the beginning. It was annoying. Lana was awesome, and it seemed like she was the complete opposite of Ashton which I think Sawyer needed.

My favorite parts in this book were the camping scene and the scene where Beau gets to talk to his real father about how proud his dad was of him. Camping in books is always amazing and in the other scene I was tearing up. It was the perfect scene for them. The ending of this book was amazing too. I think the ending fit the characters.

In the end, this book is freaking great! I recommend this series to everyone, no wait I recommend Abbi Glines to everyone. Her books are amazing and I cannot wait until her next book comes out.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Book Review: The Other Slipper by Kenechi Udogu


Title: The Other Slipper
Author: Kenechi Udogu
Publisher: Self published
Publication date: Sept 27th 2011 (Smashwords edition  - Oct 19th 2011)
Edition: First, Kindle
Pages: Not Applicable (e-book)
Source: From Author
Synopsis: When Jo finds a lone glass slipper on the night of the royal ball, she realises that there is more to the seemingly ordinary object than meets the eye. Searching for its owner, she is led to the palace where the princess sets her on a journey that thrusts her into an unexpected world of magic and illusions. It soon becomes clear that there is a lot more to her mission as she discovers startling secrets about her past and struggles to embrace her destiny. 

Rating: 3/5

Review: This book was okay in my opinion. I don't know why I didn't love it, I guess I don't like many books written like a fairy tale retelling as I originally thought. The book was very, very slow. It picked up a bit on the journey to return the slipper to it's original owner, but it was still very slow.

One thing that I liked about this book was the characters. I loved Ron, he kind of reminded me of Ron from Harry Potter. I don't know maybe it was the name, but his character personality reminded me of J.K. Rowling's Ron. Onto Jo, she was kind of annoying, she was too stubborn. I like to think that there is a line between stubborn awesome and stubborn annoying and Jo crossed it. Locke was kind of boring.. he didn't really add much to the story. This is one of those books that I actually really loved the villain. Verne was a lot less one dimensional than the other characters.

In the end this was a okay read with just a few things that weren't that great. I don't like to write reviews like this, but this book was just a little bit hard to get through, I think that is why it took so long for me to read it.


Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday #6

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly Meme, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.  


Title: My Life Next Door
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Synopsis: A gorgeous debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely in love, Jase's family makes Samantha one of their own. Then in an instant, the bottom drops out of her world and she is suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A dreamy summer read, full of characters who stay with you long after the story is over.

Release Date: June 14, 2012


My Thoughts: So this book comes out like next week and I cannot wait for it. I've been on a Contemporary YA binge lately.. I think summer might be getting to me. But that is a good thing! Now I have time to catch up on review requests.. :)

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

A Novel Affair: Splash Into Summer Giveaway Hop

A Novel Affair: Splash Into Summer Giveaway Hop: It's time for the Splash Into Summer Giveaway Hop Hosted By I Am A Reader Not a Writer .  A big Thank You to Kathy for her time and effort ...

Waiting On Wednesday #5



Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly Meme, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. 


Title: The Savage Blue
Author: Zoraida Cordova
Synopsis: Sequel to The Viscous DeepIn the quest for the Sea Throne, Tristan has already watched one good friend die. Now he must lead the rest on a dangerous voyage to the infamous port of Tortuga Cove in search of the trident that will make him king. But while Tristan chases his destiny, the dark forces raging against him are getting stronger and the sea witch of his nightmares is getting closer. Battling pirates, sea dragons and mutant creatures of the deep, Tristan needs his friends' support. But they each have their secrets, and a betrayal will force Tristan to choose between loyalty and ambition, friendship and love. In the race for a throne, all's fair in the savage blue.
Release Date: January 1, 2013


My Thoughts: I just recently read The Viscous Deep and I loved it (Review to come). I cannot wait for the sequel to come out, Tristan's story is probably the best mermaid/merman story that I have read in a while. I am totally obsessed with mermaids/mermen right now. I mean there have been some great ones coming out *cough* Of Poseidon, The Viscous Deep *cough*. The next mermaid book that I have on my list is Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs! Can't wait!


Seriously, this is going to be a preorder. :)

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

FireStarBooks: 600 Followers Giveaway!

FireStarBooks: 600 Followers Giveaway!: WOW! I just realized how many of you are following me. Thank you guys so, so much! It seriously means the world to me! I LOVE ALL OF YOU GU...

Monday, May 28, 2012

Friday, May 25, 2012

Edge of Escape: Splash Into Summer Giveaway Hop

Edge of Escape: Splash Into Summer Giveaway Hop: To win a copy of EDGE OF ESCAPE (in English or in German) leave a comment to this post with your email address. For up to 3 additional...

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday #4

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly Meme, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. 


Title: Dreamless
Author: Josephine Angelini
Release Date: May 29, 2012
Synopsis: Can true love be forgotten?

As the only Scion who can descend into the Underworld, Helen Hamilton has been given a nearly impossible task. By night she wanders through Hades, trying to stop the endless cycle of revenge that has cursed her family. By day she struggles to overcome the fatigue that is rapidly eroding her sanity. Without Lucas by her side, Helen is not sure she has the strength to go on.
Just as Helen is pushed to her breaking point, a mysterious new Scion comes to her rescue. Funny and brave, Orion shields her from the dangers of the Underworld. But time is running out—a ruthless foe plots against them, and the Furies’ cry for blood is growing louder.
As the ancient Greek world collides with the mortal one, Helen’s sheltered life on Nantucket descends into chaos. But the hardest task of all will be forgetting Lucas Delos.
Josephine Angelini’s compelling saga becomes ever more intricate and spellbinding as an unforgettable love triangle emerges and the eternal cycle of revenge intensifies. Eagerly awaited, this sequel to the internationally bestselling STARCROSSED delivers a gritty, action-packed love story that exceeds expectation. - From Amazon.


Thoughts: I know that this book comes out in like a week, but oh my gosh I am so tired of waiting for it! I want this book so bad! I want to see how Helen and Lucas's story comes out in this book. :)

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Book Review: Remembrance, Vengeance by Michelle Madow


Title: Remembrance
Author: Michelle Madow
Publisher: DreamScape Publishing
Publication Date: July 25, 2011
Edition: Kindle
Pages: 315
Source: Bought
Synopsis: Lizzie Davenport has been reincarnated from Regency Era, England ... but she doesn't know it yet.

Then Drew Carmichael transfers into Lizzie's high school, and she feels a connection to him, almost like she knows him. She can't stop thinking about him, but whenever she tries talking with him about the mysteries behind her feelings, he makes it clear that he wants nothing to do with her. Reaching him is even more difficult because she has a boyfriend, Jeremy, who has started to become full of himself after being elected co-captain of the varsity soccer team, and her flirtatious best friend Chelsea starts dating Drew soon after his arrival. So why can't she get him out of her mind?

Even though Lizzie knows she should let go of her fascination with Drew, fighting fate isn't going to be easy.

Rating: 4/5

Review: I loved this story so much. I was pleasantly surprised by it! This book has probably been on my kindle for like 6 months or something like that. I have a problem with starting books from authors that I haven't read books written by them. I have no idea why, but it happens. I am really happy that I gave this book and this author a chance though.

Before I read this book, I has heard something about it being inspired by Love Story by Taylor Swift. I could tell, It was amazing, I've always been a fan of Taylor Swift. I even set up a Taylor Swift playlist to listen to while I read this! That being said, while I was reading, the song Teardrops On My Guitar came on and I probably looked pretty funny freaking out cause it said Drew... I am kind of ashamed of my self haha.

So onto the actual book. The idea of reincarnation is a personal favorite of mine for books. I love the idea of second chances and in other series (*Cough* The Immortals by Alyson Noel) they get like a million chances. I love that idea and I think that Michelle Madow did a brilliant job with that idea. Hooking it to the story of Pride and Prejudice was a great idea.

The romance in this book, between Lizzie and Drew, was rather intriguing. I could not put this book down, I swear. I was waiting for the romance and Madow did not disappoint. My favorite scenes had to be the lake scenes! At the first one, I was this (---) close to jumping up and down, happy dancing! My family was looking at me like I was crazy, smiling down at my kindle like a freak. haha

In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this book to everyone, young and old. I cannot wait until I start reading Vengeance in a little while! :)

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Giveaway Alert #15: Lisa's Loves(Books of Course): May New Release Giveaway Hop

Lisa's Loves(Books of Course): May New Release Giveaway Hop: Welcome to Stop #11 of the  May New Release Giveaway Hop! The   May  New Release Giveaway Hop    is hosted by  Book Twirps   ...

Book Review: The Ghost and the Goth series


Title: The Ghost and the Goth, Queen of the Dead, Body and Soul
Author: Stacey Kade
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: Oct. 14, 2010, June 7, 2011, May 1, 2012
Edition: Kindle
Pages: 281, 272, 316
Source: Bought
Synopsis: 

Book 1: Alona Dare–Senior in high school, co-captain of the cheerleading squad, Homecoming Queen three years in a row, voted most likely to marry a movie star… and newly dead.

I’m the girl you hated in high school. Is it my fault I was born with it all-good looks, silky blond hair, a hot bod, and a keen sense of what everyone else should not be wearing? But my life isn’t perfect, especially since I died. Run over by a bus of band geeks—is there anything more humiliating? As it turns out, yes—watching your boyfriend and friends move on with life, only days after your funeral. And you wouldn’t believe what they’re saying about me now that they think I can’t hear them. To top it off, I’m starting to disappear, flickering in and out of existence. I don’t know where I go when I’m gone, but it’s not good. Where is that freaking white light already?

Will Killian–Senior in high school, outcast, dubbed “Will Kill” by the popular crowd for the unearthly aura around him, voted most likely to rob a bank…and a ghost-talker.

I can see, hear, and touch the dead. Unfortunately, they can also see, hear and touch me. Yeah, because surviving high school isn’t hard enough already. I’ve done my best to hide my “gift.” After all, my dad, who shared my ability, killed himself because of it when I was fifteen. But lately, pretending to be normal has gotten a lot harder. A new ghost—an anonymous, seething cloud of negative energy with the capacity to throw me around—is pursuing me with a vengeance. My mom, who knows nothing about what I can do, is worrying about the increase in odd incidents, my shrink is tossing around terms like “temporary confinement for psychiatric evaluation,” and my principal, who thinks I’m a disruption and a faker, is searching for every way possible to get rid of me. How many weeks until graduation? - Synopsis of the first book, From Goodreads.


Book 2: After being sent back from the light, Alona Dare - former homecoming queen, current Queen of the Dead - finds herself doing something she never expected: working. Instead of spending days perfecting her tan by the pool (her typical summer routine when she was, you know, alive), Alona must now cater to the needs of other lost spirits. By her side for all of this - ugh - “helping of others” is Will Killian: social outcast, seer of the dead, and someone Alona cares about more than she’d like.


Before Alona can make a final ruling on Will’s “friend” or “more” status, though, she discovers trouble at home. Her mom is tossing out Alona’s most valuable possessions, and her dad is expecting a new daughter with his wicked wife. Is it possible her family is already moving on? Hello! She’s only been dead for two months! Thankfully, Alona knows just the guy who can put a stop to this mess.

Unfortunately for Alona, Will has other stuff on his mind, and Mina, a young (and beautiful) seer, is at the top of the list. She’s the first ghost-talker Will’s ever met—aside from his father—and she may hold answers to Will’s troubled past. But can she be trusted? Alona immediately puts a check mark in the “clearly not” column. But Will is - ahem - willing to find out, even if it means leaving a hurt and angry Alona to her own devices, which is never a good idea. 

Packed with romance, lovable characters, and a killer cliffhanger, Queen of the Dead is the out-of-this-world sequel to The Ghost and the Goth.


Book 3: 
The Ghost
I’ve been trapped in the body of Lily “Ally” Turner for a month now. Talk about a fashion crisis on an epic scale. What worries me more, though, is sometimes I catch Will looking at me like he thinks I’m Lily...or that he wishes I were. Without the good looks of my former self, I don’t know who I am, or if who that is is good enough. I need out of this mess. Now.

Will and I have been looking for a solution, one that would separate me from Lily without killing her. But it’s not going well. Then, when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, we run into Misty, my former best friend and boyfriend-stealer extraordinaire, who claims she’s being haunted...by me. Seriously?

I’m determined to get to the bottom of who’s pretending to be the spirit of Alona Dare (while I’m pretending to be someone else) and then get the heck out of this body. Or die trying...


The Goth
I’ll admit it. It’s really weird to look at Alona but see Lily. I do know the difference, though, contrary to what Alona might be saying. And Alona is more than a pretty face to me, not that she would believe that.

Our one lead for some help in this messed up situation might be a page torn from the yellow pages-—the “Psychics” section-—I found in my dad’s stuff. One of the “fakes” seems a bit more real-—and odd-—than the others. Before I can investigate further, though, Alona is off and chasing a ghost that’s probably nothing more than a figment of Misty’s guilty imagination. Now Lily’s family is freaking out because she didn’t come home, my mom is ordering me to stay out of it, and something is definitely wrong with the person formerly known as Lily “Ally” Turner...

Rating: 5/5 (for all of them!)

Review: So I basically had a read-a-thon with this series! I had heard so many good reviews about this series and I decided to give it a try. I am super glad that I did! I decided to put all three of these reviews in one post because Body and Soul was the last one.


I loved book 1. I think this one was my absolute favorite. It introduced the characters so well! This is the best book that I've read in a long time, by far.  Book 2 kind of dragged a bit. Well not really dragged it just wasn't as exciting as the others. The thing with Mina, I don't even know.. I did not like her one bit. At all. The last book... OhMyGosh.. It was amazing! Not as good as the first one but definitely really close up there in second place. For most of book 3, I thought there would be no happy ending. I am a sucker for happy endings so at the end I literally got up from my reading spot and hopped up and down happy dancing. My family, if they had seen, probably would have sent me to an institution.


At the end of these books, I was super sad. I did not want this series to end. I recommend this series to everyone. I loved the concept, the characters, the plot. This was just an awesome series, I can guarantee that I will probably read this series over and over again. :)

Waiting On Wednesday #3

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly Meme, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Title: The Lost Prince
Author: Julie Kagawa
Release Date: Oct. 23, 2011
Synopsis: Set several years after the events of the first, this trilogy will star an older Ethan Chase, Meghan's brother. - From Goodreads

Thoughts: I absolutely cannot wait for this book, I would kill for it. Totally serious. I have reasons:

1) Hello Coverlust, my name is Tiffany ;) The first time I saw this cover I was like, "Daaaammnn! When did little toddler Ethan grow up?!?! What happened to the little kid that Meghan needed to save?" Not that I'm objecting ;D

2) I am not going to pass up the chance that we will see Ash again.. and Puck for that matter. 

3) Um.. It's part of The Iron Fey series and Julie Kagawa is writting it.. Do I need to say more?

To put it simply.. It is in my Amazon cart...right now.

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Book Review: Hym and Hur by Phillip Frey


Title: Hym and Hur
Author: Phillip Frey
Publisher: Phillip Frey
Publication Date: January 14, 2012
Edition: Kindle
Pages: 35
Source: Author
Synopsis: In this fantasy-comedy Hym and Hur are a young couple who never age and have been in love for more than a century.  They also possess an array of magical abilities, two of which are either to play pranks on humankind or to perform good deeds.  Enacting both at the same time is now what gets them into trouble.
    The prank Hym and Hur have come up with must first be agreed upon by Death, who happens to be a rambunctious, difficult character.  Once agreed upon, the prank is set in motion.  But then Hym and Hur soon discover Death had tricked them into a contract with dire consequences for all of us.
    During their attempt to break the contract, Hym and Hur try to save the relationship of an earthbound couple, knowing they are truly meant for each other.  A good deed that will bring Hym and Hur even more trouble.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Review: To start off this review, let me tell you I actually liked this story. I've never really been a fan of short stories, they end too soon. This one I would have loved to see this story a little bit longer. I think that maybe a better back story for the characters would have been really appreciated.

The characters are one thing in particular that I really want to share about. These characters were very comical and they felt very thought out to me. Hym is a personal favorite, I loved his practical jokes! Even if there were only a few. Death was hilarious! He was amazing in his first scene. I didn't get a very strong impression with Hur, I have no idea why. Sarah and Archie's relationship was very cute.

There were a few scenes that I found very memorable in this story. The first is the bar scene with death, very funny. :) I loved Death, I don't know why but I did. The zombie scene was another memorable one. I love zombies! I really didn't think that there would be any in this story, but it was great and very comical. The last one that I want to announce is the Iraq scene. I teared up a bit to put it simply. It was very sad and I think it put that realistic aspect in there that the book neede.

To conclude this review, I want to say that this story is one I would recommend. I enjoyed it and I'm not really a fan of very short stories. This story is one of those ones to read when you have a break or something to just relax and enjoy.

About The Author: Phillip Frey grew up in Cleveland, Ohio, where he performed as a child actor at The Cleveland Playhouse.  The day after he graduated high school he moved to Los Angeles.  While attending Los Angeles City College he performed in many of their plays while also performing in local theater. 
    He then moved to New York where he performed with The New York Shakespeare Festival, followed by The Repertory Theater of Lincoln Center.  With a change of interest Phillip wrote, directed, and edited 3 short films, all of which had international showings, including The New York Film Festival.
    With yet another change of interest he returned to Los Angeles to become a produced screenwriter.  And now more recently, "Dangerous Times" and "Hym and Hur" are Phillip Frey's  first works of narrative fiction.

Author's Website: Phillip Frey

Waiting On Wednesday #2

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly Meme, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Title: Bitter Blood
Author: Rachel Caine
Release: November 6, 2012
This week the book that I am waiting very impatiently for, I'm never very patient for books, has to be Bitter Blood by Rachel Caine. This book, I swear, has been saved in my Amazon cart since I finished Black Dawn. Rachel Caine is one of my favorite authors and I can't wait until the next installment to this series is out. Now all that I have to do is find a way to pay for it.... hmmm... hello lawn, meet your mower! Yay! :)

Bitter Blood (The Morganville Vampires, #13)Synopsis: Thanks to the eradication of the draug, the vampires of Morganville have
been freed of their usual constraints. With the vampires indulging their
every whim, the town’s human population is determined to hold onto
their lives by taking up arms. But college student Claire Danvers isn’t
taking sides, considering she has ties to both humans and vampires.
To make matters worse, a television show comes to Morganville looking
for ghosts, just as vampire and human politics collide. Now, Claire and
her friends have to figure out how to keep the peace without ending up
on the nightly news…or worse - From Goodreads